2010 Prix Olympia Announced

Gold medal Prix Olympia 2010The Prix Olympia, a longstanding tradition initiated by the late Juan Antonio Samaranch in 1985, at the time President of the IOC, has once again been awarded.

As many may remember, the original idea was to organize an international competition to select the three best-designed stamps issued for the Winter Olympic Games in Sarajevo and the Summer Olympic Games in Los Angeles. President Samaranch, himself a great Olympic collector, conceived this prize.

In March 2012, the jury for the Prix Olympia (consisting of the IOC Commission for Philately, Numismatics and Memorabilia) made its selections for the three outstanding stamps issued for the 2010 Vancouver Olympic Winter Games:

Gold medal: United States Postal Service, stamp of 44 cents (snowboarding)

Silver medal : Postal Administration of Andorra, stamp of 0,85 euros (skiing)

Bronze medal : Postal Administration of Latvia, stamp of 0,55 euros (ice hockey).

- Jean-Louis Emmenegger -

Prix Olympic silver & bronze winners